ADULT 

SUPPORT SERVICES

IF IN IMMEDIATE DANGER CALL 999 TO CONTACT THE POLICE

If you are in danger and unable to speak, there is a system for silent calls.  A recorded voice asks you to tap the phone or dial 55 to show you are there.  If there is no response, the call is automatically cut off.  Operators can override the cut-off if they hear suspicious noises.

 

Call 101 for non-urgent enquiries.

Action for Elder Abuse 0808 808 8141 www.elderabuse.org.uk

Information, advice, and support for those who suspect an older person is being abused, or for older people who are being abused.

 

Age Concern 0800 00 99 66 https://www.ageuk.org.uk/

 

Alcoholics Anonymous 0808 769 7 555 https://www.alcoholics-anonymous.org.uk/

 

Anxiety UK  03444 755 744 (Mon-Fri 09:30-17:30) https://www.anxietyuk.org.uk/

 

Asian Mental Health Helpline 0808 800 2073 (Mon & Wed 16:00-19:00, Tues & Thurs 12 noon-15:00)

Kent and West Sussex Region https://www.rethink.org/help-in-your-area/services/advice-and-helplines/rethink-sahayak-asian-mental-health-helpline/

 

B-EAT 0808 801 0677 (Mon-Fri 12 noon-20:00, Sat-Sun & B/Hols 16:00-20:00)

Eating Disorders - Adults. https://www.beateatingdisorders.org.uk/

 

Benefits www.gov.uk

Broken Rainbow UK  www.brokenrainbow.org.uk/

Support for lesbian, gay, bisexual and trans people experiencing domestic abuse.

CALM 0800 58 58 58 (17:00 – Midnight) https://www.thecalmzone.net/

Campaign Against Living Miserably, suicide prevention

 

Carers Direct 0300 123 1053 www.nhs.uk/carersdirect

Information and advice for anyone looking after someone else.

 

Child Bereavement UK 0800 0288840 https://www.childbereavementuk.org/

 

Chinese Mental Health Association 0845 122 8660 (Mon-Fri 16:00-18:00)

http://www.cmha.org.uk/

 

Citizens Advice 0345 4040 506 www.citizensadvice.org.uk 

 

Combat Stress 0800 138 1619 www.combatstress.org.uk

Support for military veterans on a range of mental health conditions including PTSD, anxiety, and depression.

Crisis Team  Mansfield and Ashfield (Nottinghamshire)  01159560860

Crisis Team  Nottingham City  0300 300 0065

 

Cruse Bereavement Care 0844 477 9400 (Mon-Fri 09:00-17:00)

https://www.cruse.org.uk/

 

Depression Alliance 08451 23 23 20 https://www.mind.org.uk/about-us/what-we-do/depression-alliance/

Domestic Violence Disclosure Scheme

If you live in Nottinghamshire, you can find out if your partner has a violent past. 

https://www.nottinghamshire.police.uk/clareslaw

Equation   0115 960 5556  24 Hour Answerphone  (Mon-Fri 09:30-16:30) https://equation.org.uk/

Supporting people experiencing domestic abuse (Nottingham). 

 

Family Lives 0808 800 2222 https://www.familylives.org.uk/

Parenting support.  Formerly known as Parentline Plus.

Galop       0800 999 5428 http://www.galop.org.uk/

Support for lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender people experiencing homophobia, transphobia or biphobia wherever it occurs.

 

Gamcare 0808 8020 133 www.gamcare.org.uk

Support and advice to anyone with a gambling problem.

 

Homelink Nottingham www.nottinghamhomelink.org.uk  

Housing application and bidding site, Nottingham.

 

Jewish Helpline 0800 652 9249 (Sun-Thurs 12 noon-12 midnight) http://www.jewishhelpline.org/

Juno Women’s Aid 0808 800 0340    24 hours https://junowomensaid.org.uk/

Supporting women experiencing domestic abuse.

 

Lesbian & Gay Switchboard 0207 83 77 324 https://switchboard.lgbt/

Milbrook 01623 785 913

Mental health unit for adults needing specialist support services (North Nottinghamshire).

Mind Nottinghamshire 0800 4700 203 080 https://www.nottinghamshiremind.org.uk/

Information and support for better mental health.

 

Muslim Community Helpline 0208 904 8193 (Mon-Fri 10:00-13:00) https://muslimcommunityhelpline.org.uk/

 

NSPCC 0800 800 5000 For adults concerned about a child or young person. https://www.nspcc.org.uk/

National Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Children.

 

Narcotics Anonymous 0300 999 1212 https://online.ukna.org/

 

National Debtline 0808 808 4000 (Mon-Fri 09:00-21:00, Sat 09:30-13:00) https://www.nationaldebtline.org/

National Domestic Helpline 0808 2000 247 https://www.nationaldahelpline.org.uk/

Also known as Refuge.  Free phone, 24 hours.

 

National Gambling Helpline 0808 802 0133 https://www.gamcare.org.uk/get-support/talk-to-us-now/

 

National Self Harm Network 0800 622 6000 (07:00-11:00) https://www.nshn.co.uk/

 

No Panic Helpline 0844 967 4848 www.nopanic.org.uk

Support for anxiety disorders and panic attacks.

Nottinghamshire Mental Health Helpline 0808 196 3779

Available to anyone in mental health crisis at any time, anywhere across Nottingham or Nottinghamshire.

 

PANDAS Foundation (Pre & Post Natal Depression Support) 0843 2898 401 https://www.pandasfoundation.org.uk/

 

Papyrus 0800 068 4141 (Mon-Fri 09:00-22:00, Sat-Sun 14:00-22:00) https://papyrus-uk.org/

Under 35’s Suicide Prevention

Rape Crisis (England & Wales)     0808 802 9999 https://rapecrisis.org.uk/

 

Refugee Council 0207 3466 700 https://www.refugeecouncil.org.uk/

 

Refuge 0808 2000 247 (Domestic Violence) https://www.nationaldahelpline.org.uk/

 

Relate 0300 100 1234 (Relationship Advice) https://www.relate.org.uk/

 

Shelter 0808 800 4444 (Housing Advice, 08:00-20:00) https://www.shelter.org.uk/

Samaritans 116 123  https://www.samaritans.org/  

Call free, 24 hour service, to talk about whatever you are going through.

 

SOBS 0300 111 5065 www.sobs.org.uk

Survivors Of Bereavement By Suicide. National helpline.

 

Stonewall 08000 502 020 www.stonewall.org.uk

LGBT information and support.

 

Survivors UK 0845 1221 201 (Mon, Tues, Thurs 19:00-21:30) https://www.survivorsuk.org/

For men 15-35, victims of sexual abuse and their family and friends.

 

LGBT Foundation 0345 3 303030 https://lgbt.foundation/helpline

Victim Support 0808 1689 111 https://www.victimsupport.org.uk/

Women’s Aid (Now Juno) 0808 800 0340 https://junowomensaid.org.uk/

Free phone, 24 hours.

Young Minds Parents Helpline 0808 802 5544 (Mon-Fri 09:30-16:00) https://youngminds.org.uk/